Unspeakable Script for episode 11

Here’s the script for Episode 11 of The Unspeakable and the Inhuman.

Remember, kids, this show is still copyrighted so don’t take and run with this script without the permission of the authors.

Enjoy.

The Unspeakable and the Inhuman, Episode 11
By Derek Fetters and Sam Stewart©2009

CHARACTERS (in order of appearance)
NARRATOR
BAXTER CALHOUN
DALLAS LANDSALE

THE UNSPEAKABLE AND THE INHUMAN, EPISODE 11

(SOUND OF HEAVY RAIN AND OCCASIONAL THUNDER)

NARRATOR: Welcome to Dâgōn Island: an isolated Northwest enclave with a most eccentric populace, a sinister history, and secrets so horrifying that once revealed lead to madness and death! (THUNDER CLAP)

(MUSIC: EERIE NOISE CREATED BY THEREMIN OR SAW)

It is said that residents of Dâgōn Island live the lives of (THUNDER CRASH) (ECHOING VOICE) The Unspeakable and The Inhuman! (END ECHOING VOICE)

(MUSIC EERIE SOUND BUILDS TO A CLIMAX AND ENDS)
(RAIN AND THUNDER ENDS WITH A FINAL THUNDER CLAP)

Baxter Calhoun, MIT mathematics professor, has received an unusual inheritance from his grandfather, an ancient Arabic mathematics text entitled the Al-djinn-fil-hisaab. However, the book’s location remains a mystery. Yet, last night, a menacing figure in a dream told Baxter to search in the cave at the edge of the woods. Finding himself unable to sleep, Baxter has ventured into the night and into the cave in order to find clues to the books location.

(SOUNDS OF A DAMP CAVE. WATER TRICKLING OR DRIPPING, VERY ECHO-Y. SHUFFLING FOOTSTEPS LEAD INTO SCENE)

BAXTER: This cave seems to go on forever. And there are a lot of side-caverns. It’s like a labyrinth in here.

(FOOTSTEPS SLIP AND STUMBLE)

Damnit! This is pretty stupid. Spelunking by the light of a cel phone. I should head back to the house and wait for dawn.

(AS BAXTER ROUNDS A CORNER, LOW SCRAPING SOUNDS CAN BE HEARD)

BAXTER: (Under his breath)What’s that! Where is that coming from? The sound is bouncing around so much, it’s source could be anywhere. Let’s just go this way and get out of here.

(SCRAPING SOUND GETS SLIGHTLY LOUDER)

Am I getting closer to it? Let me take a left here.

(SCRAPING SOUND GETS SLIGHTLY LOUDER)

Oh, God. I’m lost. I’m supposed to be getting away from this sound.

(SCRAPING SOUND GETS SLIGHTLY LOUDER)

It could be anything – a rabid wolverine, a … a serial killer dumping a body, or a (out loud) A GIRL!

DALLAS: Oh!!

BAXTER: Aaaah!

DALLAS: Oh!

BAXTER: Aaargh!

DALLAS: Why are you screaming?!
BAXTER: There’s a blinding light in my eyes!

DALLAS: Oh, that’s my flashlight. Sorry.

BAXTER: Who are you?

DALLAS: D-Dallas. No-nobody.

BAXTER: What are you doing?

DALLAS: I’m sorry. I should be going.

BAXTER: Now, wait a…

DALLAS: Look, I’m sorry, alright! I’m having a really weird week, O.K?! You wouldn’t believe me if I told you.

BAXTER: I might have an idea…

DALLAS: I’m not even supposed to be here! I should be in Seattle, at school, working on my thesis. I just came here to end things with my asshole fiancé-

BAXTER: I, ah…

DALLAS: -but he’s in a coma, so I can’t! And then his creepy doctor totally feels me up as he’s telling me that Lance might never recover-

BAXTER: Wow, that’s…

DALLAS: -and Lance’s notes indicate that there might be foul play involved in his condition, which could be from any of the w-e-i-r-d people on his contact list. Y’know, there are a whole lotta nutjobs on this island.

BAXTER: Tell me about it!

DALLAS: One of which, Lance, apparently, is having an affair with! That was the last straw! I had to get off this rock!

BAXTER: (POINTEDLY) Okay, but, why are you here?

DALLAS: I’m just doing a favor for a my professor. He wanted me to get a sample from this cave before I left. And then I found this…

BAXTER: …What?

DALLAS: This!

BAXTER: What? What am I looking at? The wall?

DALLAS: (a little exasperated)Yes! The wall! Do you see these strata here?

BAXTER: Yes.

DALLAS: Well?!

BAXTER: It is a little dim in here, and this really isn’t my area of…

DALLAS: Look at this layer right here, with the little circular fossils. This is several millions of years old.

BAXTER: Okay.

DALLAS: And this layer underneath it, the presumably older layer…

BAXTER: I’m with you.

DALLAS: Notice anything unusual?

BAXTER: Is that a…a car bumper. That shouldn’t be there…right?

DALLAS: No, it shouldn’t!

BAXTER: The license plate says Tennessee…

DALLAS: This whole rock layer is an anomaly! The whole thing doesn’t belong here in the Pacific Northwest and definitely not between these layers.

BAXTER: The tabs are still current…

DALLAS: It’s like a piece of modern time is embedded between these eons-old strata. This is an incredible find!

BAXTER: Literally incredible.

DALLAS: This will make my career!

BAXTER: I should think so.

DALLAS: And now I’m going to jail.

BAXTER: Going to jail? Why, you’re not a serial killer, are you?

DALLAS: For trespassing. You’re from the Maddox estate, aren’t you?

BAXTER: Well, yes and no. I’m just out here because a grandfather I never knew of died, and I’m mentioned in his will.

DALLAS: You’re kidding.

BAXTER: If only. The family is crazy. My Uncle seems nice enough, but he reminds me of Dracula. One of my cousins thinks he’s a wizard. Another one wants to kill me. And the last one wants to fu-well, seduce me.

DALLAS: Ew.

BAXTER: Yeah. And her husband has the most horrifyingly inappropriate bedside manner for a doctor.

DALLAS: What’s his name?

BAXTER: Get this: it’s Doctor Gregory Rutherford.

DALLAS: Holy Crap! That’s the creep that felt me up.

BAXTER: That just figures.

DALLAS: And what is your name?

BAXTER: Baxter.

DALLAS: And what are you doing here?

(BEAT)

BAXTER: This is going to sound crazy. (BEAT) I’m here because I was told to come here in a dream.

DALLAS: Really?

BAXTER: Yeah, I’m supposed to get a clue about where my inheritance is.
DALLAS: Uh huh.

BAXTER: Well, think about it. If it made sense it would obviously not belong with the rest of this week, right?

DALLAS: (LAUGHING) Right. Look, if you’re not going to have me arrested, I should probably get going.

BAXTER: Hey, if you know the way out, let me follow you. I think I got lost.

DALLAS: Sure.

(TWO SETS OF FOOTSTEPS START)

DALLAS: Just watch out for that stalagmite.

(STUMBLE AND TRIP. FOOTSTEPS STOP)

BAXTER: Whoa. Yeah, that’s… that’s really something.

DALLAS: Huh? What do you mean?

(START WEIRD SWIRLY DIMENSIONAL PORTAL SOUND UNDER BAXTER’S DIALOGUE, WHICH CUTS OUT WITH DALLAS SPEAKS, BUT RETURNS AND BUILDS IN VOLUME AND INTESITY SLOWLY WITH EACH BIT OF BAXTER’S LINES – THE SOUND IS REPRESENTATIVE OF THE VISION BAXTER IS HAVING THAT DALLAS IS UNABLE TO SEE HERSELF)

BAXTER: Don’t you see it?

DALLAS: You mean the stalagmite?

BAXTER: That, right there.

DALLAS: That?

BAXTER: Yes. Don’t you see it?

DALLAS: I guess it’s not a stalagmite. It’s more a rock sitting on another rock.

BAXTER: No, it’s not a rock. It’s a multi-sided object, but it has so many sides it looks like a sphere. You just can’t tell till you get close enough….

DALLAS: Well, that’s kind of weird, but…

BAXTER: And it’s shining.

DALLAS: Are you sure? I don’t see anything.

BAXTER: There’s also the images reflected through each side, like I’m looking through a hundred different windows, depending on what angle you gaze into it from.

DALLAS: It just looks like a dull, non-shiny rock to me.

BAXTER: Can’t you see the images? They’re flooding my mind. The hundred robed men walking through the desert towards a dark obelisk, the spired city miles below the surface of the sea, the multi-eyed fungi flying from the edge of space towards our planet…

DALLAS: The what?

BAXTER: I see a million different points throughout space and time all being projected into my mind.

DALLAS: Are you okay?

BAXTER: There’s a man in Salem in the last century sketching the feeding habits of ghouls from live models. There’s anti-dilluvian structures serviced by polymorphous creatures who existed centuries before humans. There’s a boy three decades ago in Wisconsin riding a Big Wheel. Sweet! I always wanted one of those!

DALLAS: Are you on ’shrooms?

BAXTER: I’m seeing every corner of the earth, at every possible time, from its beginning to its collapse and beyond. I’m seeing the stars spilling out the original elements that will make planets and life, solar systems expanding into galaxies…

DALLAS: You are so on ’shrooms.

(WHEN THE SOUND RETURNS FOR BAXTER’S VISION, ADDED TO IT IS THE FAINT SOUND OF HIGH PITCHED EERIE PIPING)

BAXTER: No, no, but it’s continuing to expand into the entirety of the universe, infinite blackness and vast impossible stillness, then stirring, something stirring as if this unfathomable void is a living thing itself, churning into semi-solid and discrete forms…

DALLAS: Look, I did 3 months with the peyote eaters of Oaxaca and I did my undergrad at the University of Oregon so I know someone trippin’ when I see it.

(THE PIPING RETURNS, WITH THE OTHER SOUNDS, PROMINENTLY NOW, SHRILL AND UNNERVING)

BAXTER: Can’t you see the dancing and hear the piping around the swirling blasphemous mass? Can’t you?

DALLAS: Baxter?

BAXTER: As I look into it, it looks into me. No, it looks through the trapezohedron and looks into me. Something in the darkness sees me.

(BEGIN FAINT SCRAPING SOUND, SIMILAR TO THE SCRAPING SOUND WE HEARD JUST BEFORE BAXTER DISCOVERED DALLAS)

BAXTER: I see it moving, lurking in the darkness, skulking from the shadows to reach out, to pull itself out, to grasp at my mind and pull itself out!

(CONTINUE THE SOUNDS OF BAXTER’S VISION GOING UNDERNEATH DALLAS’ NEXT LINE)

DALLAS: Baxter, snap out of it!

(ALL THE SOUNDS COME TO A SUDDEN STOP – BUT AN ECHO OF THEM FADES OUT -EXCEPT FOR THE SCRAPING. THE SCRAPING CONTINUES DISTANTLY IN THE BACKGROUND UNDERNEATH BOTH OF THE CHARACTERS’ LINES – THIS NOT SOMETHING IN BAXTER’S MIND, BUT INSIDE THE CAVE)

DALLAS: Look, take some deep breaths. Stop looking at the weird rock. You’re just having a bad trip.

BAXTER: No, no I’m okay. The images went away as soon as you pulled me away from the trapezohedron.

DALLAS: Wow, that’s the fastest come down I’ve ever seen.

(SCRAPING GETS SLIGHTLY LOUDER)

BAXTER: But I did see the book just before you pulled me away.

DALLAS: The book?

BAXTER: The Al-djinn-fil-hisaab. I now know where it’s being hidden.

(SCRAPING BECOMES GRADUALLY LOUDER, AS IF IT’S SOURCE IS GETTING CLOSER TO BAXTER AND DALLAS)

DALLAS: So you’re not tripping, but still not making sense.

BAXTER: I have a question.

DALLAS: You have a question?

BAXTER: You’ve already got your rock sample…

DALLAS: Yes.

BAXTER: … and you’re standing right here…

DALLAS: Couldn’t have pulled you away from the weird rock otherwise.

BAXTER: … then what is making that scraping sound?

(BRING SCRAPING SOUND INTO THE FOREGROUND AS IF ITS SOURCE IS NEARBY)

(BEAT)

DALLAS: I don’t know, but let’s not stay and find out.

(TWO SETS OF FOOTSTEPS MOVE DOWN THE CAVERN)

DALLAS: We should still be able to get out if we go this way.

(SCRAPING FADES AWAY IN THE DISTANCE. FOR A MOMENT ALL WE HEAR ARE DALLAS’ AND BAXTER’S FOOTSTEPS. HOWEVER, A NEW, FLOPPING, SLOPPING SOUND STARTS IN THE DISTANCE)

BAXTER: What is that sound now? Is that in front of us?

DALLAS: Um. It’s probably just a seal?

(THE FLOPPING SOUND STOPS MOMENTARILY AND A REVERBERANT CROAKING-LIKE SOUND IS HEARD. AND A RESPONSE CROAKING SOUND IS HEARD AS WELL. [Note: The flopping and the croaking sounds all come from the same direction])

BAXTER: That’s not a sound a seal makes.

DALLAS: And it’s definitely not human.

(ANOTHER CROAK, THIS TIME BLUNT, SHORT. AND THEN THE FLOPPING STARTS AGAIN FASTER AND QUICKLY GETS LOUDER)

DALLAS: Run, run!

(BAXTER AND DALLAS’ RUNNING FOOTSTEPS FADE OFF INTO THE DISTANCE AND THE FLOPPING FOOTSTEPS GET LOUDER, RUNNING IN PURSUIT OF BAXTER AND DALLAS – SOON LOUD ENOUGH, WITH THE OCCASIONAL WEIRD CROAKING, THAT WE ASSUME THEY ARE WHERE BAXTER AND DALLAS HAD BEEN – AND THEN THE FLOPPING FOOTSTEPS AND CROAKING FADE AWAY, JUST AS BAXTER AND DALLAS’ HAD DONE)

(FADE IN RAIN AND THUNDER)

NARRATOR: Who or what is pursuing Baxter and Dallas through the cave? Will Baxter and Dallas survive their ordeal long enough to find the meaning behind the cave’s bizarre geology or Baxter’s weird visions?

(MUSIC: EERIE NOISE CREATED BY THEREMIN OR SAW)

NARRATOR: To find the answers to these questions and more, keep listening to the macabre tales of (ECHOING VOICE) The Unspeakable and the Inhuman! (END ECHO)

(MUSIC EERIE SOUND COMES TO A CLIMAX AND ENDS)
(FADE OUT RAIN)

Published in: on September 20, 2011 at 2:34 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://nineteennocturne.wordpress.com/2011/09/20/unspeakble-script-for-episode-11/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

